Black Bean Soup

I made up this recipe last week to suit a sort of craving I was having.  No, I’m not pregnant.  But I definitely had a taste for this soup.  I didn’t know when I was mixing up all the ingredients just how delicious it was going to be!  Oh my gosh.  Be prepared.

1 pound black beans, sorted and rinsed

6 cups chicken broth

1 can diced tomatoes with green chiles

1 Tablespoon chili powder

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon black pepper

Texas Pete, to taste (I use 2 or 3 “dashes”)

1 pound Country Style Pork Ribs, bone in (about 3)

Add beans and broth to a pot and boil for 2 minutes; pour into slow cooker.  Add remaining ingredients, including the pork ribs.  Cover and cook on low 8-9 hours.  

Remove pork from slow cooker and shred the meat, discarding the bones.  Set the shredded pork aside.  

Scoop out 1/2 to 3/4 of the beans and puree them in a food processor.  Stir processed beans back into soup.  This should thicken the soup just a bit.  Stir in the shredded pork.  

Serve with shredded cheese and a dollop of sour cream and tortilla chips.  

**This soup is not really thick.  Hubby says he would like it to be a bit thicker, while I am fine with the way it is.  The next time, I will most likely cut the amount of broth I use down to 5 cups to see what kind of consistency that gives it.  But, like I said, I like it the way it is.

This is my feeble attempt at a picture of my delicious soup.

I so badly want a better camera.  Want to give me one?  

Published in: on August 27, 2008 at 4:17 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aheartforhome.wordpress.com/2008/08/27/black-bean-soup/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

