Getting Back To It

I have to confess something.  I haven’t been “cleaning” for a week or so now.  I know.  My house is turning into a rather dusty mess.  Hubby complained last night that the dust is starting to choke him.  Truth be told, it’s choking me too.  

I’ve just been preoccupied with other stuff.  Like playing with the baby.  And video taping the baby doing cute stuff.  And planning the Back-to-School Bash at church (which was a huge success, by the way).  And feeding my internet addiction.  You know, important stuff.  

Anyway, this morning I decided that I’ve got to get back to it.  I’ve got to start using my lists again.  At least this way, I don’t have to stammer around and lie fib stretch the truth when Hubby asks if I used my list this evening.  I just hate when it gets to this point and I really have to bust my butt to get it back in shape.  I mean, really, it’s not that bad but still.  

So, in order to get my cleaning mindset going on, I’ve put on my “cleaning music”.  Granted, right now it’s my “blogging music” because I wanted to go ahead and type up this post while I’m slacking “on break”.  

What is cleaning music, you ask?  

Well, it’s music that you listen to really loudly while cleaning that also motivates you to keep right on boogying, I mean cleaning.  For me, it’s the CD that I had just bought when Hubby and I started dating.  I loved every song on it and I listened to it while cleaning up my house before he came over.  Ya know, since I was destined to be his bride, I couldn’t have him seeing what a slacker I was at house cleaning.  Anyway, back to the music, it’s not even my favorite CD anymore and the only time I listen to it is when I’m cleaning.  It brings back the feelings of pure bliss and anxious anticipation I had over 8 years ago when my sweetheart was coming over to make out on the couch visit.  *Dreamy eyed*  It makes me want to rush out and buy a pair of l.e.i. jeans and a bottle of Curve perfume (they were my staples back in the day).

But that brings me to this:  Shouldn’t I still feel that way that my sweetheart is coming home from work in a few hours?  I mean, shouldn’t I still be all happy and filled with feelings of pure bliss and anxious anticipation at the thought that I will see him in a few hours?  Listening to this CD while I’m cleaning really brings back those feelings and reminds me how much I really do love Hubby – even while I’m scrubbing the toilet.  Pure bliss, I tell ya.  Honestly, I’m a bit upset with myself because I don’t feel this way about Hubby coming home to me each day as I was 8 years ago and he was just coming over to visit for the evening.  I will make a better effort to remember not to take the fact that Hubby is coming home to me at the end of every day for granted anymore, k?

I digress….Where was I?  Oh yeah, cleaning music.  

So, the CD I’m listening to is Chelly Wright: Single White Female.  Do you have cleaning music?  What’s your favorite?  I’d love to know what you listen to while you clean.  

 

 

Published in: on August 21, 2008 at 10:35 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aheartforhome.wordpress.com/2008/08/21/getting-back-to-it/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

