Better Than Sex Cake

According to my mother, that’s exactly what my grandmother called it!  I hate to publish so many recipes all the time, but this one’s too good not to share.  And I’m dying for a piece right now.  

When I was younger, I loved nothing better than to walk down the hill to my Mamaw’s house and look through her recipe box.  It was filled with recipes scrawled on the backs of envelopes and sales receipts, no doubt from various potlucks and parties she had attended.  Many of Mamaw’s recipes did not have names on them.  This is one of those recipes.  I told my mother that I had taken this cake to work one day and everyone wanted to know what it was but I didn’t know the name.  She says Mamaw called it a Better Than Sex Cake.  

1 box yellow cake mix and ingredients to prepare

2 eggs

1 cup white sugar

1 can crushed pineapple

1 small package vanilla instant pudding, prepared

Cool-Whip

Coconut

 

Bake cake in a 9×13 inch pan, according to package directions, adding 2 additional eggs to the mix.  When cake is done, poke holes in top of cake with a fork.  Combine sugar and undrained pineapple in a pot and cook over medium heat to boiling.  Boil for 5 minutes and immediately pour over cake.  Allow cake to cool completely.  Spread vanilla pudding over top of the cake.  Spread Cool Whip over top of the pudding.  Sprinkle generously with coconut.  Keep refrigerated.

I suppose whether you think this cake is actually better than sex depends on who you’re having sex with, right? You be the judge.  At any rate, enjoy the cake!

Published in: on August 20, 2008 at 9:06 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aheartforhome.wordpress.com/2008/08/20/better-than-sex-cake/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

