Shining My Sink Without All The Chemicals

As I’ve mentioned before, I am using FlyLady to get my house in order.  The first thing FlyLady tells you to do is to shine your sink.  Why?  Here’s what FlyLady says….

This is your first household chore. Many of you can’t understand why I want you to empty your sink of your dirty dishes and clean and shine it, when there is so much more to do. It is so simple. I want you to have a sense of accomplishment. You have struggled for years with a cluttered home and you are so beaten down. I just want to put a smile on your face. When you get up the next morning, your sink will greet you and a smile will come across your lovely face. I can’t be there to give you a big hug, but I know how good it feels to see yourself in your kitchen sink. So each morning this is my gift to you. Even though I can’t be there to pat you on the back, I want you to know that I am very proud of you.

Go shine your sink! – FlyLady

She’s right,  you know.  It does give you a great sense of accomplishment and it makes you feel so much better about your home.  For me, it was contagious!  Once the sink was shined, I just had to clean the counters.  And then I had to do the bathroom sinks.  And then the bathroom counters.  You get the picture.  

Anyway, FlyLady uses things like AJAX or Comet and Windex to shine her sink.  I started out that way but I’ve since stopped using cleaners like those.  Instead, I use things like vinegar and baking soda.  Since I enjoy my shiny sink so much, I’ve changed the way I shine it, without losing the shine!  Here’s how:

  •  Fill one side of your sink to the rim with hot water and add 1 cup of bleach.  Allow to sit for one hour and then drain it.  Repeat with the other side of the sink.  You don’t have to do this every time; I only do it once a month.  The bleach really helps keep the drains smelling fresh and takes care of any stains around the drain.  This is one thing I still do that FlyLady does.  
  • Spray the sink with a mixture of 1 cup of white vinegar and 1 cup of warm water.  I keep this on hand at all times to clean with, it’s my all-purpose cleaner.   
  • Dampen a paper towel with the vinegar/water cleaner and wrap it around a butter knife.  Use this to scrub really well around the edges of your sink (where it meets the countertop) and around the edge of the faucet.  You probably won’t have to do this every time you shine your sink – just as needed.  
  • Using a sponge, wipe the sink really well all over.  Make sure to wipe down in the sink and along the edges, as well as around the faucet.  
  • Rinse the sink well.
  • Sprinkle some baking soda in each side of the sink.  With a sponge, scrub the sink with the baking soda just as would with AJAX.  Make sure to get around the edges and all over the faucet, too! 
  • Rinse the sink really well to remove any residue left by the baking soda.  
  • Use a dry dish towel to wipe all the water off of the entire sink.  You may want to let it sit for a few mintues after this to make sure it’s good and dry.
  • Spray the sink with a glass cleaner.  Right now, I’m using up the last bit of my Method peppermint glass cleaner.  After that, I’ll be using a mixture of water, ammonia, and alcohol.  You can find some good glass cleaner recipes online.  I’ll be posting the ones I’ve found soon.  
  • Now, your sink should be nice and shiny!  If you have a stainless sink, you can also dab a little olive oil on a paper towel and rub it all over your sink for a little added shine.  

You don’t have to go through the whole process every single day.  I don’t.  Like I said, I do the bleach thing once a month or so.  I do shine my sink daily though.  I do the vinegar/water cleaner every time I cook and then clean up my mess.  I do the baking soda and window cleaner twice a day – morning and night.  

If you’d like to see the way FlyLady does it, you can find her instructions here.  Happy Shining!

If you have a good recipe for household cleaners, I’d love to hear it!

Published in: on August 14, 2008 at 3:35 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aheartforhome.wordpress.com/2008/08/14/shining-my-sink-without-all-the-chemicals/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

