Bedwetting

My seven year old son has started wetting the bed a lot lately.  He was never a bed wetter until about the age of 5 or so.  I don’t know why it happened but suddenly, he started wetting the bed about once a week or so.  These past few months, he’s been wetting the bed five or six times a week!  That makes for a lot of extra laundry. 

Hubby says not to get upset with him over it.  He assures me that it’s just a phase and it will pass.  He says I will only make it worse for the boy if I fuss at him.  Hubby was a bed-wetter and he says his mother fussed at him sometimes about it and it really didn’t help matters.  I’ve read that somehow bedwetting can be hereditary.  If one or both parents wet the bed, chances are the child will too.  Perhaps my mother-in-law was right, having a new baby would cause the boy to have “middle child syndrome” and now he’s started to wet the bed.  I don’t know.

I’ve spoken to his pediatrician about it.  I asked him why on earth this would start happening now.  He said that bed wetting in boys is more prevalent because boys often do not develop the hormone that concentrates urine during the night (antidiuretic hormone or ADH) until later than girls.  I don’t know about you, but I didn’t realize there was a hormone that concentrates the urine while we’re asleep!  I did some research and here’s what I found….

“Recent medical research has found that many children who wet the bed may have a deficiency of an important hormone known as antidiuretic hormone (ADH). ADH helps to concentrate urine during sleep hours, meaning that the urine contains less water and therefore takes up less space. This decreased volume of water usually prevents the child’s bladder from overfilling during the night, unless the child drank a lot just before going to bed. Testing of many bed-wetting children has shown that these children do not have the usual increase in ADH during sleep. Children who wet the bed, therefore, often produce more urine during the hours of sleep than their bladders can hold. If they do not wake up, the bladder releases the excess urine and the child wets the bed.”

Now, the pediatrician says it should pass soon.  He could give him a synthetic hormone until his body produces the antidiuretic hormone but he’d rather not.  We’d rather not either.  There are, however, some steps we can take to help him to stay dry at night.  Here’s what we’ve been doing:

  • Limit the amount of drinks he has after dinner (usually 6:00 p.m.).
  • Caffeine and carbonated drinks are generally not allowed in the evenings since these can irritate the bladder increase the chances of a wet bed.  We don’t allow our kids to have caffeine anyway but we’ve noticed that even when he drinks a Sprite in the evening, he almost always wets the bed.
  • Make sure he urinates before going to bed.
  • Wake him up before we go to bed so he can urinate again (just for safe measure).

I try to be understanding, really I do.  But I just get so tired of having to wash “pee sheets” every day.  I keep a plastic mattress cover on his bed so at least his mattress is staying dry.  I try to not let my son see my aggravation because I can see that he’s just as aggravated with himself.  And that makes me feel sad for him.  He tries so hard.  He really does not want to wet the bed. 

I found a product called Under Jams by Pampers.  They are kinda like Pull Ups/Good Nites but they aren’t as bulky and they have a lower cut waist so they don’t show out the tops of their jammies.  They are only available at two stores in my area and they are around $18.99 for a package of 27.  I’m not sure my guy would even be willing to wear them so I signed up online for a free sample.  If he wears the sample and likes them, I’d be more than willing to pay $20 a month for dry sheets.   I’ll let you know how they are when we get the sample to try.  

Do you have any suggestions to help my fella stay dry at night?  I need all the help I can get.

Published in: on August 13, 2008 at 1:28 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aheartforhome.wordpress.com/2008/08/13/bedwetting/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

