Zucchini Bread

 

The neighbor behind us has a (huge) beautiful garden and has supplied us with a ton of zucchini this summer.  With the zucchini abundance, I decided to make zucchini bread.  Here’s my recipe:

3 c. all-purpose flour

1 t. salt

1 t. baking soda

1 t. baking powder

3 t. ground cinnamon

3 eggs

1 c. vegetable oil

2 1/4 c. sugar

3 t. vanilla extract

2 c. grated zucchini (leave the skin on)

1 c. chopped walnuts

Sift flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and cinnamon together in a bowl.  *I don’t actually sift it, I put it in the bowl and stir it up with a wire whisk.  The flour I buy is pre-sifted and I’m too lazy to sift it again. Beat eggs, oil, vanilla, and sugar together in a large bowl.  Add “sifted” ingredients to creamed mixture, and beat well.  I find that at this point it’s getting a bit thick.  If it gets hard for my mixer to mix up, I go ahead and toss in some of the zucchini for added moisture.  Once you’ve gotten everything mixed up, stir in the zucchini and walnuts until well combined.  

Pour the batter into two greased and floured 8 x 4 inch pans.  Bake at 325 degrees for 40 -60 minutes, or until tester inserted in the center comes out clean.  I find that it actually takes closer to 60 minutes but I don’t want it to get dry so I start checking it at 40 minutes.  Cool in the pans on a rack for 20 minutes before removing from the pans to cool completely.  

When I eat zucchini bread, I like to spread cream cheese on the slice.  YUM!  

Do you have a good zucchini recipe?  I’d love to hear it.  With all this zucchini around, it would be nice to have something new to try.

Published in: on August 7, 2008 at 1:03 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aheartforhome.wordpress.com/2008/08/07/zucchini-bread/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

