Learning to Crochet

For quite some time now, I’ve wanted to learn to crochet.  My mother-in-law crochets and tried to teach me once but I wasn’t getting it and I wasn’t really interested in it.  But now, I’m ready!  I want to learn.  Mostly I want to make cool gifts for Christmas and save us some money.  Oh, and I want to make my own dishcloths.  And one day I’d like to make a rug like this one.

I talked with a lady at my church who said she could teach me since I don’t see my mother-in-law that often.  She said she has tons of yarn and we would get together one day and she would show me how it’s done.  The problem is, I don’t see this lady outside of church functions and I wanted to learn yesterday!  I’m really impatient like that.

Yesterday afternoon, I scoured the internet for how-to videos for learning to crochet.  Let me just tell you, there are a ton of them!  Most of them are on YouTube.  The one that helped me the most was this one.  I have saved it in my bookmarks so I can go back to it and learn the more advanced stitches.  

I ran right out last night and bought a couple of things of yard and a crochet hook and thought I’d be able to crochet this scarf right away.  Wrong!  I couldn’t quite get the hang of it and hubby was calling me to come to bed so I quit for the night.  This morning, after I worked my lists, I sat down at the computer with my yarn and hook and worked my way through the first few lessons and now I am comfortably doing the single and double crochet!  I am so excited!  

My first project or two will be some dishcloths for myself and then I will move on to bigger projects for Christmas gifts, like this scarf!  I will be sure to post some pictures of my finished projects as I go along so you can see what I’ve learned.

Published in: on July 30, 2008 at 4:11 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aheartforhome.wordpress.com/2008/07/30/learning-to-crochet/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Congratulations! I also recently taught myself to crochet. It’s so much fun.. check out some of the crochet stuff on my blog for good beginners stuff to make ( I just started maybe a month ago).
    http://raisingexplorers.blogspot.com/search/label/crochet

    I’ve posted pics of a present I made for my dad’s birthday – a coaster set I designed to look like pool balls for his pool table room, and a very ambitious teddy bear I made for my son.. among more stuff.

  2. Just in case you don’t read my reply to your comment on my blog, I’m posting it here for you as well…

    I did double crochet.. but, to make it have scrubbing power, I did something called “Front Post Double Crochet” which I learned from this website: http://www.crochetkitten.com/tutorials/fpdc.html it’s very easy to do, and will teach you a new trick to make interesting designs.


Leave a Reply

