Cleaning with Routines

A few months ago I started FlyLady.  I was all gung-ho and doing really well….for about three days!  I found that my in box was flooded with email tips and tricks and cleaning routines and I didn’t really care to follow any of the stuff so I deleted it all and eventually removed myself from their mailing list.  

Two weeks ago, I was at the library and ran across Sink Reflections, a book by Marla Cilley (aka FlyLady).  I checked it out and started reading it.  It really is a great book to help you get your life and home back on track.  She gives great tips for getting out of the CHAOS (Can’t Have Anyone Over Syndrome) that has overtaken your home.  I haven’t finished the book yet, but I’ve been able to implement some of her tips into my daily life.   The most important one for me (so far) is to develop a routine.  

FlyLady gives her routines in the book and on her website.  Check them out, maybe they will help you.  I haven’t used FlyLady’s routines as my own, though, because they do not fit my life.  Instead of following her routines, I made a list of everything that needs to be done in my house daily to keep it in order.  Then I made a list of more detailed cleaning that needs to be done weekly and monthly and so on.  

My daily routines consist of things like loading/unloading the dishwasher, sweeping the floors, making the beds, emptying the trash, running a feather duster over the furniture, and vacuuming the main areas of the rooms with carpet.  Your daily routines may be different from mine.  The point is that your routine has to fit you and your home.  That’s what makes it yours, right?

I took a look at the list of things that need to be done on a weekly basis and separated it by room.  I then scheduled a room (or two) each day.  For instance, on Mondays I clean the kitchen really well by cleaning out the fridge, mopping the floor, straightening the cabinets, taking off the recycling, and dusting the china hutch.   Monday is also the day that everyone’s bed gets clean sheets.  Since these things don’t take a lot of time, I also polish the furniture in the den on Monday as well.  On Tuesdays, I scrub both of the bathrooms really well.  That’s enough scrubbing to do me for one day so that’s all that I put on Tuesday’s list.  You get the picture?  

Each of my lists is in a clear page protector in a three-ring binder.  This was another tip from FlyLady.  This way, you can use a dry erase marker to mark items off your list as they are completed and then wipe it clean for the next day!  I don’t know about you but I love being able to see things marked off of my list.  My husband likes seeing what I’ve marked off too!

FlyLady also does what she calls “Zone Cleaning”.  Each week, you concentrate on a different zone of your house.  I haven’t gotten this far yet.  Right now, I’m just happy trying to get stuff in order.  FlyLady also recommends that you don’t worry about all that zone cleaning until you’ve been able to conquer the clutter in your home first.  We’ll discuss decluttering in another post.

Published in: on July 23, 2008 at 4:49 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aheartforhome.wordpress.com/2008/07/23/cleaning-with-routines/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] and hubby was calling me to come to bed so I quit for the night.  This morning, after I worked my lists, I sat down at the computer with my yarn and hook and worked my way through the first few lessons […]

  2. […] this morning I decided that I’ve got to get back to it.  I’ve got to start using my lists again.  At least this way, I don’t have to stammer around and lie fib stretch the truth when […]

  3. My brother recommended I may like this web site. He was
    totally right. This submit actually made my day. You cann’t believe just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  4. I blog often and I truly appreciate your information. This great article has
    truly peaked my interest. I’m going to bookmark your blog and keep checking for new details about once per week.
    I opted in for your Feed as well.


Leave a Reply

